How many miles can I get out of an NC750

Guest capt.hanky

Guest capt.hanky

Hi, I've been using my NC to commute to work for a while now, the mileage is on about 23k.  What experiences have you guys got with racking up high miles.  Is it possible to get 80k out of a bike without too many issues?  I really like it but don't see the point in changing every couple of years for a slightly newer model if I can just keep this one running.  It's a dct by the way if that makes any difference. 

Thanks

Matt

Mikdent

I have no experience of owning a high mileage NC but I can see no probs with it doing in excess of 100k miles (at least) if it's well looked after.

Its a Honda after all. :niceone:

• Like 2
embee

Mechanically there shouldn't be any issues. Usually really high mileage bikes die due to general deterioration due to salt corrosion etc.

Deauvilles will happily do 150k plus miles, I'd be surprised if the NC is much different.

If you intend to run it to high miles, keep on top of the routine servicing, change fluids regularly (including coolant, fork oil and brake fluid), and keep it protected with suitable products like ACF50 etc. Fork gaiters would be a worthwhile addition, plus a shock sock is essential. Service the brake calipers regularly to avoid corrosion, red rubber grease round the exposed parts of the pistons will help a lot.

Always worth dismantling the rear suspension linkage and fully pack the bearings with suitable grease, it's an easy DIY job.

Edited by embee
  • Like 3
ScooterCommuter

Here's a youtube video of a pretty thorough check at 50,000k - looks promising for much higher mileage...

• Like 2
old commuter

Embee - that sounds really complicated to dismantle but I would love to find something like that easy - is there a guide for dismantling the linkage?

embee

It's not complicated or difficult, basically 4 long bolts. It helps enormously if the bike has a centrestand of course, rather tricky without.