Ashley

Do you find the NC750X suspension hard?

Ashley

Hiya

After the lovely, considered and friendly responses I got to my last daft question, I thought I'd pose another ...

I've been spoilt riding pillion on my hubbies GS1200 which seems to float over bumps and potholes, so I'm finding the NC750X's suspension quite hard.  Is this a general opinion, or is it just me being "precious"?  

I recently read an article about an NC750 which had had the suspension upgraded (Rally Raid) and it apparently made quite a difference. Is upgrading the suspension a common tweak, or am I just finding it harsh as I'm not that experienced a rider and it feels harder and bumpier than the hubbies BMW?  If this is a common occurrence, what seems to be the favoured option please?

Many thanks - you guys are lovely and it's refreshing to find a forum where posts don't quickly become nasty.

Ashley

baben

I moved on from the NC partly because of the suspension which, on the mark ones, was harsh at the front and indifferent at the back. It is fixable though and there are a range of fixes from cheap to expensive - the guys on the forum are experts on them. If you don't want to do the work yourself someone like MCT in Stowmarket are very good and will make a good job of it for you

Tex

Not a daft question, Ashley. And I don’t think you’re being ‘precious’ (love that phrase :D ) at all. You may well find you adapt to it after a short while, but it’s certainly worth checking the pre-load setting on the rear shock to make sure it’s not set any harder than it needs to be for your weight. 

• Like 1

Ashley

Thanks Tex

How hard is it to adjust the preload?  Is it something that needs a bit of muscle?  I ride the DCT 'cos I have arthritis in my hands, so I'm dubious about wielding spanners in hard to reach places.

gonzo

5  min job ash mr ashley or dealer will do it for you im sure  !

Tex
1 hour ago, Ashley said:

Thanks Tex