Radarman

Rukka logos - fault

Radarman
Posted (edited)

I have been using my Rukka Cosmic jacket and trousers for nearly 3 years and I have been very happy with them.

However before our Romanian trip I washed the jacket and trousers using Nikwax Tech Wash (40 deg low spin
wash cycle ) followed by Nikwax TX.Direct (30 deg low spin wash cycle).
How disappointed I was to discover that after washing all reflective Rukka arm stripes and back logo have dots missing or surface peeling
off (see below).

2qnuzxv.jpg

rh3edy.jpg

1zq4th1.jpg

Interestingly Cosmic trousers that were washed in the same washing cycle together with the jacket have reflective stripes intact. I have washed the jacket and trousers several times over the past years using the same Nikwax products making sure washing machine was cleaned from detergents or softeners but never had such issue before.

I have contacted the shop I bought the jacket from and they replied that they contacted Rukka (I presume UK distributor) and for a jacket of this age, purchased in 2015, a level of wear and tear in these transfers is - for them - normal and that Rukka guarantee only covers them for two years (despite me having 6-year warranty certificate without any exclusions). They say these are largely a cosmetic feature and the wear does not impact on the structural safety of the jacket.

My opinion is - although jacket still does its job - unfortunately cannot agree that the wear level if it is normal. Apart from this fault jacket looks almost like new (I try to take good care of things in general) and reflective transfers were fully intact until last washing so it was not gradual deterioration due to wear and tear. Unfortunately shop upholds their decision and only offered chargeable repair. All reflective transfers are still peeling off so soon it would not be almost anything on the jacket.