Bike is making loud banging/knocking noise

Guest Gibbyrgibson 79

Guest Gibbyrgibson 79

Hi all,

My NC700x 2013 is making a loud knocking noise. It's not too bad when cold. However, when warned up it gets progressively worse. It also gets worse at the beginning of acceleration. I have recently held the clutch in and it stops when I do this.

I'm new to biking and this is my first bike. It's done 25000 miles. 

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Edited by Gibbyrgibson 79
Wrong model imputed.
KingJames

Does your service history show the valves being checked/adjusted? 

What type of oil is in it? 

steelhorseuk

First thing that comes to mind on a NC700 manual with 25k on the clock making that kind of noise "loud knocking" is a loose or worn Cam Chain or tensioner.

I suggest you get it in for inspection as it may do more damage if you keep riding it.

Edited by Steel Horse UK
  • Like 1
KingJames

Where in the world are you?

The fact that it stops the noise when holding in the clutch makes me want to concentrate on the drive train clutch assembly.

KingJames

Suggestions of getting a known good local mechanic to give you a steer on what it is likely to be.  Reason for my two questions above are they are based around a hot engine, Mark's is generic and all are very possible.

South coast and South London, I can give you a steer to one.

• Thanks 1
Guest Gibbyrgibson 79
1 minute ago, KingJames said:

Suggestions of getting a known good local mechanic to give you a steer on what it is likely to be.  Reason for my two questions above are they are based around a hot engine, Mark's is generic and all are very possible.

South coast and South London, I can give you a steer to one.

I live in Newcastle. Theres a Honda garage near by. Or should I do my homework on which garage first?

11 minutes ago, KingJames said:

10 minutes ago, KingJames said:

KingJames