Rear Brakes

SRR

Hi 

I am new to the NC750X [and biking for the last 30 years!!] Just been out on the NC for the second time, I have noticed that the the front brakes are very good - but the rear seem to be poor!!.

Are the front brakes linked to the rears ??? 

Steve

Spindizzy

No they aren't linked.

Rear on its own feels crap, but both together seems greater than the sum of the parts.

ABS on both. If you can get the rear ABS to kick in then greater braking isn't really an issue.

Edited by Spindizzy
rjp996

Rear as standard is a non sintered pad. Agree if feels weak compared to say the AT, however if you push hard you can trigger the abs so it's more than effective enough. I just adapted to the feel of it, and find it actually good for control when slow filtering in london. 

• Like 2
Andywills77

They told us when doing the CBT and das that the front is 70% of the braking power...on my NC its definitely the case..

I did have a 125 that was an exception to this. It had a drum brake on the back and my god did that thing stop if you slammed down on the pedal

Tonyj

Same as above for me. Rear brake ok use Honda pads as well

Edited by Tonyj

OK  - many thanks guys. Just need to get used to the rear poor brakes and “stomp” a bit harder!!

I can’t remember that I had a problem with my CX500 and older bikes - but maybe they had drums on the back!!

many thanks for your reply’s 

Steve

Chriswright03

In my experience a great many riders either don't use their rear brake at all or don't use it properly.  Saw a bloke yesterday here filtering in traffic on some big hog type thing.  He had to brake in slow moving traffic and I saw the front end lurch down showing he had just had a grab of the front brake when he realised he wasn't going to make it through the gap.  Very often seen it in town riding when someone will pull up at a junction and the forks dive down usually on gravel and both feet come out as they have lost balance.