adjusting the chain question

Mike5100

Mike5100

my chain slack done by the book is still within spec at 30mm, but I realised yesterday that whereas I thought I was pushing the chain upwards until its own tension stopped it, that's not the case, and the upper limit is dictated by it hitting some kind of plastic guide on the underside of the swingarm.  So I made sure the top side of the chain was tight (I think I rolled the bike backwards slightly), and this caused the bottom of the chain to sag further, meaning this time when I checked the travel it was 40mm.  

So what's the right way of doing it - top of chain tight, or relaxed?

Mike

• Like 1

I'm new to this lark as well, so I've copied what it says from the manual:

55ba43dad4e47f7613b3f4eca91e5ecc42a996c4

However, when I had my RK chain changed for the DID there was significant visible slack after about 2 weeks. I took the bike back to the dealer who stated that all chains stretch to some degree although the RK in 6000 miles didn't stretch half as much as the DID in 300....

Anyhow, the mechanic stated that the easiest way to check the correct slack was to see if you could make the chain slap against the underside of the swinging arm - not a consistent push/lift and touch (too loose) but a quick slap (if you couldn't slap it against the arm it was too tight.) And I watched the mechanic do this (as I was sat on the bike at the time.) No rolling forwards or backwards, no checking for tight points.

Guest martroy

I would say the Honda handbook is correct BUT I would suggest checking it with somebody sitting on the bike because on some bikes the chain tension can vary considerably with swinging arm movement...guess it's due to the design of the frame and suspension...the NC700X has quite a long suspension travel so it's best to check it's not too tight with the normal load on the bike.