Valve check !

gonzo

gonzo

Just had a price for valve check on my X, blades Swindon want £350 ! Think I will be doing it myself ! Used to  do it on my 16 valve Kawasaki ! Only difference on the x is the rad has to come off , but hey I’m a plumber how hard can it be ! Now where’s that feeler gauge ! 

• Like 4
MatBin

Obviously they didn't want to do it, they are aware it's not bucket and shim but tappet followers with arms and locknuts?

Ridiculous price.

There are plenty of videos on YT.

Edited by MatBin
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
fj_stuart

I don't suppose the NC is the worst. A couple of years ago I checked & adjusted the valves on my SV650. It had done 35,000 miles without an adjustment (I bought it from a friend at 15k) Radiator off - 4 valves slightly tight and 4 at the lower end of the range. Oh well might as well shim the lot. Four cams out. Being a V twin it's best to do each set of valves separately so it takes time. It's due to be done again but I'm hoping no further adjustment will be needed.

• Like 3
Empty_Ten

I paid £275 for the 16k service including valve clearance, change of filters, change of coolant, new front brake pads.  I thought that was a bargain :D

Previous valve clearance services on my fireblade and MT10 have all been £500+.  2 were at independents and one was at a main dealer who charged over £800 (even with a 10% discount because I bought the bike from them).

of course, if you’re handy and know what you’re doing - it’s even cheaper.  But, I’m as ham fisted as they come, so I’ll keep funding local business (that’s how I’d rather think of it :D).  

• Like 1
Andy m
19 minutes ago, gonzo said:

Just had a price for valve check on my X, blades Swindon want £350 ! Think I will be doing it myself ! Used to  do it on my 16 valve Kawasaki ! Only difference on the x is the rad has to come off , but hey I’m a plumber how hard can it be ! Now where’s that feeler gauge !