A warm right hand

Guest garcher

Guest garcher

So, I've got what I think are Honda grip heaters. The activation button is on the left hand control set and has 3 settings...

The issue I have is the right grip is always an order of magnitude hotter than the left. I've had a poke around in the manual but it doesn't mention the grip heaters anywhere...

Does anyone know if there is a way to adjust the temperatures of the left and right grips?

Cheers :)

(I leave the innuendo puns on the title to you guys)

Guest machinman

They should both give the same output, unfortunately this can be a fault with heated grips, they all play up eventually.

Some makes tend to last longer than others, though I have no experience of the genuine Honda items.

Not sure how much of a difference in temperatures you are getting, but I on several bikes I've had there has been a noticeable but not severe difference which I have always attributed to different heat dissipation/conductivity. Left grip is on metal handlebar which will conduct heat away whilst right is on plastic throttle  which helps to act as an insulator so "leaching" less heat away through the bars.

This might be complete rubbish of course, but it is the assumption I have always made

• Like 2

I Have always used Honda grips and never noticed any difference in temperature. What I have noticed is if you grip the throttle all the way round you get more head as opposed to maybe covering the clutch and only having 1/2 your hand around the throttle.

Another point is some of the Honda grips are only 180 degree so if they have been put on not facing the rider then you will not get the same heat.

Guest goldfish

My Honda heated grips have more than 3 heat settings but each setting applies to both sides so, no, they can't be set separately.

That said, the right always "appears" warmer as my throttle hand moves less than my left hand so keeping the toasty warmth inside. Rogue's comments above might also have some merit.

Rev Ken